Is Therapy Bad? Why It’s Okay To Ask For Help.

Tree in JakeGreyLogo

This week I realized something. My OCD and depression have gotten out of control. I am constantly having migraines and panic attacks. I am not happy unless I am doing something I extremely love. I am getting angry if I am in control of the situation. I am lashing out at people that I care about for no reason.

Jake, why do you feel like the internet wants to hear this?

“D&C 18: 15 And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father!

16 And now, if your joy will be great with one soul that you have brought unto me into the kingdom of my Father, how great will be your joy if you should bring many souls unto me!”
My point is: If ONE person out there can open up about their pain and avoid suicide or even pain because of me, then it was worth it.

Jake, therapy and medications are only for crazy people, right?

Yes and no. I am weird and horribly awkward. but I do not think that I am crazy. I may have an emotional imbalance or something is jacked up in my brain. My step-sister suffered from way more serious mental issues and she was never “crazy.” I actually hate the word “crazy’. Crazy should be reserved for ex-girlfriends only.

Therapy should not be something only said in hushed tones. If you have a cavity, do you avoid the doctor because someone might ask if you went there? No. Then going to get help for a mental cavity should not be taboo. Medications are the same way. If someone is struggling and needs help from antidepressants, then we should be proud of them for making the steps in order to improve their life.

What I am trying to say is: Stop being rude to people that are reaching out for help. Therapy and medicine can help. Don’t hurt them for looking for help. I am excited to get the help that I need in order to regulate my mind and my emotions. I hope that I will be able to use this momentum to overcome the massive trials that are ahead of me. God is great.
– Jake

One thought on “Is Therapy Bad? Why It’s Okay To Ask For Help.”

Leave a Reply

